What, The Boomers Are Retiring?

Every now and again when I find another BLOG or column that is relevant or has what I call ‘stuff to think about’ I like to post a copy here. Recently I had an opportunity to speak with Steve Davis, a Certified Financial Planner from Mansfield and he offered up several of his articles. I felt this one was apropos!

The last time I visited my parents in Florida, we were missing one ingredient needed for that night’s dinner. I offered to take a “quick” run to the store to pick it up. Well, if you’ve ever gone grocery shopping there, you’ll know that there is no such thing as a quick run to the store. You see, the people there don’t work anymore and have all the time in the world — I got back just in time for dessert. Okay, I may be exaggerating but you get the point; there are a lot of retirees in Southern Florida. Believe it or not, it won’t be long before the whole country has the same proportion of “seniors” as Florida does today. Can you believe that the first of the baby boomer generation turned 65 years old on January 1 of this year? It’s true. And for the next 19 years, ten thousand boomers a day will reach that milestone. I was born in 1963 and that means that I’m among the last of the Baby Boomers. By the time I reach retirement age it is estimated that nearly 20 percent of the US population will be age 65 or older.

For the remainder of this article (and important subject, click here…)

One Trackback

  1. […] What, The Boomers Are Retiring? (homeinstead590.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

